..

Corporate Governance

The Austrian Code of Corporate Governance (ACCG) provides Austrian stock corporations with a framework for the management and supervision of companies. This framework includes internationally recognized standards for good corporate governance as well as relevant regulations of Austrian stock corporation law.

The code aims to ensure a responsible management and control of companies and corporate groups oriented towards the sustainable and long-term value creation. It is intended to create a high degree of transparency for all stakeholders of the company.

Declaration of Commitment

Lenzing AG respects the Austrian Code of Corporate Governance. For the first time, the company committed itself in 2010 to complying with the stipulations contained in the code. The Supervisory Board also unanimously resolved to fully adhere to the ACCG. The code is available on the Internet at www.corporate-governance.at in the currently valid version (July 2012). Lenzing AG is required to prepare and publish a Corporate Governance Report in accordance with Rule 60 of the ACCG.

This Corporate Governance Report is publicly available on the Website of Lenzing AG (C-Rule 61 ACCG).

Corporate bodies of Lenzing AG

1) Management Board

Peter Untersperger (born 1960)

Chairman of the Management Board

First appointed: January 1, 1999

Current mandate expires: March 31, 2016

Responsibilities: Business Unit Engineering, Corporate Communications, Global Human Resources, Internal Audit, Mergers & Acquisitions, Wood Purchasing
Supervisory Board mandates in other companies: none

Friedrich Weninger (born 1957)

Member of the Management Board

First appointed: January 1, 2009

Current mandate expires: December 31, 2014

Responsibilities: Business Unit Textile Fibers, Business Unit Nonwoven Fibers, Business Unit Pulp, Business Unit Energy, Business Unit Plastics, Business Unit Filaments, Global Safety, Health & Environment, Environment Lenzing Site, Infrastructure Lenzing Site, Business Planning
Supervisory Board mandates in other companies: none

Thomas G. Winkler (1963)

Member of the Management Board

First appointed: April 1, 2010

Current mandate expires: March 31, 2016

Responsibilities: Global Finance, Global Information Technology, Global Purchasing, Investor Relations, Legal Management, Risk Management, Group Compliance

Supervisory Board mandates in other companies: Österreichische Industrieholding AG

The Management Board consists of three members, and is responsible for managing the business operations of Lenzing Aktiengesellschaft in accordance with prevailing legal regulations, the Articles of Association and the internal rules of procedure applying to the Management Board. The distribution of responsibilities among the members of the Management Board is determined based upon the organizational plan stipulated in the internal rules of procedure, which also regulates the mode of cooperation among the Management Board members. Furthermore, the Management Board is required to fully comply with the rules stipulated in the Austrian Code of Corporate Governance.

In July 2012 the Management Board mandate of Thomas G. Winkler was extended for a further three-year period. In September 2012 the mandate of Peter Untersperger, Chairman of the Management Board, was also extended until March 2016.

2) Supervisory Board

2.1. Composition

Michael Junghans (born 1967)

Since March 29, 2011: Chairman (up to March 29, 2011: Deputy Chairman)

First appointed: April 30, 2010

Current mandate expires at the Annual Shareholders’ Meeting resolving upon the 2012 financial year

Supervisory Board mandates in other companies: Semperit AG Holding, AMAG Austria Metall AG

Veit Sorger (born 1942)

Since March 29, 2011: Deputy Chairman

First appointed: June 4, 2004

Current mandate expires at the Annual Shareholders’ Meeting resolving upon the 2014 financial year

Supervisory Board mandates in other companies: Mondi AG (Chairman), Semperit AG Holding (Chairman), Constantia Industries AG (Chairman), GrECo International Holding AG

Helmut Bernkopf (born 1967)

First appointed: April 23, 2009

Current mandate expires at the Annual Shareholders’ Meeting resolving upon the 2014 financial year

Supervisory Board mandates in other companies: CA Immobilien Anlagen AG, Schöllerbank AG (Chairman), Österreichische Kontrollbank AG

Josef Krenner (born 1952)

First appointed: April 23, 2009

Current mandate expires at the Annual Shareholders’ Meeting resolving upon the 2014 financial year

Supervisory Board mandates in other companies: Voestalpine AG, Flughafen Linz GmbH, B & C Industrieholding GmbH, BioMed-zet Life Science GmbH, AMAG Austria Metall AG (Chairman)

Martin Payer (born 1978)

First appointed: June 15, 2007

Current mandate expires at the Annual Shareholders’ Meeting resolving upon the 2014 financial year

Supervisory Board mandates in other companies: none

Patrick Prügger (born 1975)

First appointed: March 29, 2011

Current mandate expires at the Annual Shareholders’ Meeting resolving upon the 2013 financial year

Supervisory Board mandates in other companies: Semperit AG Holding, AMAG Austria Metall AG, VA Intertrading AG

Andreas Schmidradner (born 1961)

First appointed: June 12, 2008
Current mandate expires at the Annual Shareholders’ Meeting resolving upon the 2014 financial year

Supervisory Board mandates in other companies: Semperit AG Holding, VAMED AG

Astrid Skala-Kuhmann (born 1953)

First appointed: April 19, 2012

Current mandate expires at the Annual Shareholders’ Meeting resolving upon the 2014 financial year
Supervisory Board mandates in other companies: none

Walter Lederer (born 1961)

First appointed: June 27, 2012

Mandate expired on April 19, 2012

Supervisory Board mandates in other companies: none

Supervisory Board members designated by the Works Council

Rudolf Baldinger (born 1954)
First appointed: 1998
Audit Committee, Nomination Committee, Strategy Committee

Georg Liftinger (born 1961)
First appointed: 2008
Audit Committee, Strategy Committee

Ing. Gerhard Ratzesberger (born 1951)
First appointed: 2008

Johann Schernberger (born 1964)
First appointed: 2001

2.2. Independence (C-Rules 53 and 54 ACCG)

The Supervisory Board has adopted the guidelines relating to the independence of its members pursuant to Appendix 1 of the Austrian Code of Corporate Governance. All members of the Supervisory Board have declared themselves to be independent from the company and the Management Board.

Pursuant to C-Rule 54 of the ACCG, the Supervisory Board members Veit Sorger, Helmut Bernkopf and Josef Krenner declared in the 2012 financial year that they were neither shareholders with a stake of more than 10% in the company nor did they represent such a shareholder’s interests.

2.3. Mode of operation of the Supervisory Board

To fulfill its responsibility of overseeing the work of the Management Board, the Supervisory Board of Lenzing AG convenes at least once every quarterly period for a meeting. A total of five Supervisory Board meetings took place during the year under review (C-Rule 36 ACCG).

In the 2012 financial year the Supervisory Board of Lenzing AG constituted four committees consisting of its own members (C-Rules 34 and 39 ACCG):

2.3.1. Audit Committee
The Audit Committee carries out the responsibilities assigned to it pursuant to Section 92 Para. 4a Austrian Stock Corporation Act. This stipulates that these responsibilities are primarily in auditing and preparing the adoption of the annual financial statements and the evaluation of the proposal made by the Management Board on the distribution of profits as well as the Management Report. The Audit Committee also examines the consolidated financial statements of the Group and the Group Management Report and makes a recommendation for the selection of the auditors. Furthermore, the Audit Committee examines the effectiveness of the internal control system (ICS), internal auditing and the risk management system of the company. The committee is required to report to the Supervisory Board about its activities. In the 2012 financial year the Audit Committee convened three times.

Members: Michael Junghans (Chairman), Veit Sorger, Patrick Prügger, Rudolf Baldinger, Georg Liftinger

2.3.2. Nomination Committee
The Supervisory Board has established a Nomination Committee which makes recommendations to the Supervisory Board on filling new or vacant positions on the Management Board, and also deals with issues relating to succession planning. Moreover, the committee makes proposals to the Annual Shareholders’ Meeting for filling vacant positions on the Supervisory Board. Four meetings of the Nomination Committee were held in the 2012 financial year, which focused on extending the Management Board contracts of Peter Untersperger and Thomas G. Winkler.

Members: Michael Junghans (Chairman), Veit Sorger, Rudolf Baldinger; non-voting guest: Georg Liftinger

2.3.3. Remuneration Committee
The Supervisory Board has set up a Remuneration Committee which deals with the terms and conditions of employment contracts with Management Board members, ensures compliance with C-Rules 27, 27a and 28 and also assesses the remuneration policy with respect to Management Board members in regular intervals. The Remuneration Committee convened eight times during the 2012 financial year, focusing in particular on the remuneration model applying to the Management Board starting in 2013.

Members: Michael Junghans (Chairman), Veit Sorger

2.3.4. Strategy Committee
The Supervisory Board established a Strategy Committee for the first time during the year under review. This committee focuses on the business strategy of the company and the related company-specific key performance indicators in cooperation with the Management Board. Moreover, the measures designed to implement the strategy are monitored by the Management Board, which also carried out an annual review. Two meetings of the Strategy Committee were held in the 2012 financial year.

Members: Michael Junghans (Chairman), Veit Sorger, Andreas Schmidradner, Rudolf Baldinger, Georg Liftinger

2.4. Cooperation of the Management Board and Supervisory Board

The Management Board reports to the Supervisory Board on fundamental issues relating to the business policies of the company and the Group, as well as the future development of the financial position, financial performance and cash flows. In addition, the Management Board regularly informs the Supervisory Board about business developments and the current situation of the company and the Group in comparison to forecasts, taking the future development into account. The Management Board and Supervisory Board also discuss the long-term growth objectives of the Lenzing Group in a separate strategy meeting.

2.5. Self-evaluation of the Supervisory Board

For the first time, the Supervisory Board carried out a self-evaluation in the 2012 financial year in accordance with C-Rule 36 ACCG in the form of a questionnaire which focused on the effectiveness of the control functions of the Supervisory Board as well as the compliance with the Management Board’s obligations to provide information to the Supervisory Board. The results of the self-evaluation show the activities of the Supervisory Board of Lenzing AG are given good marks. Furthermore, a list of measures designed to enhance the efficiency of the Supervisory Board’s work was prepared.

3) Principles of Management Board and Supervisory Board remuneration (C-Rule 30 ACCG)

The remuneration models for the Management Board employment contracts were harmonized over the last two years, and the variable salary components in these contracts were expanded. The remuneration of all three Management Board members consists of a fixed and a variable performance-oriented salary component. In addition, the Management Board is given a long-term bonus bank model. The maximum bonus is limited to 148% of the fixed annual salary in the future. A stock option program or a program featuring the preferential transfer of shares does not exist.

  • The short-term profit sharing scheme for the Management Board is primarily determined by the criteria of the Group net profit for the year and overall profitability as well as the cash flow and individual qualitative goals.
  • With respect to the 2012 financial year, the dividends paid are used as the basis for determining the long-term share of the bonus. Starting in 2013, the targets used to determine the long-term bonus bank model are as follows: 2/3 of the bonus bank model will be calculated on the basis of the performance criteria of the Lenzing Group (sales, EBIT margin, total shareholder return) over a period of several years in comparison to a peer group, and 1/3 will consist of the achievement of qualitative targets. Payment will be distributed over a three-year period.
  • Furthermore, the Management Board is also entitled to the company making contributions to a pension fund. This amounted to TEUR 96 in the 2012 financial year (2011: TEUR 94).
  • Company pension benefits as well as severance payments and entitlements to benefits in case an employment contract of a board member is terminated are determined by valid federal regulations.
  • The company has taken out a Directors and Officers Liability Insurance (D&O) policy as well as legal protection insurance for the Management Board members.

Salaries of Management Board members of Lenzing AG:

Remuneration of the management board

EUR '000

Peter Untersperger

Friedrich Weninger

Thomas Winkler

Total

2012

2011

2012

2011

2012

2011

2012

2011

Fix current emoluments

484

468

433

391

405

390

1,322

1.249

Variable current emoluments

696

2,240

525

1,539

488

1,391

1,709

5,170

Total

1,180

2,708

958

1,930

893

1,782

3,032

6,419

The salaries of former members of the Management Board of Lenzing AG or their surviving dependants amounted to TEUR 895 in 2012 (2011: TEUR 860).

The principles underlying the remuneration paid to members of the Supervisory Board are laid down in the Articles of Association of Lenzing AG (Section 13), which are published on the Website of the company. In accordance with the Articles of Association, the Supervisory Board will be granted in 2012 1.5% of the Group net profit for the year 2011 but a maximum of 2.5 times their annual fixed remuneration, taking account of the stipulations contained in Section 98 Austrian Stock Corporation Act. All Supervisory Board members are paid the same amount, with the exception that the Chairman is given an additional 60% and the Deputy Chairman an additional 30%. The annual fixed remuneration totals EUR 7,082. The amounts are adjusted to the consumer price index.

On balance, total remuneration for the members of the Supervisory Board amounted to EUR 222,998 for the 2011 financial year, which was resolved upon at the Annual Shareholders‘ Meeting 2012 and subsequently paid.

Remuneration of Supervisory Board members of Lenzing AG:

Michael Junghans

EUR 37,867

Veit Sorger

EUR 30,431

Helmut Bernkopf

EUR 24,788

Josef Krenner

EUR 24,788

Martin Payer

EUR 24,788

Patrick Prügger

EUR 18,879

Andreas Schmidradner

EUR 24,788

Astrid Skala-Kuhmann (mandate began April 2012)

-

Hermann Bell (mandate ended March 2011)

EUR 9,562

Walter Lederer (mandate ended April 2011)

EUR 24,788

 

Rudolf Baldinger

EUR 679

Georg Liftinger

EUR 679

Ing. Gerhard Ratzesberger

EUR 272

Johann Schernberger

EUR 679

4) Promoting the career advancement of women to Management Board, Supervisory Board and executive positions (L-Rule 60)

Lenzing AG observes a strict equal opportunity policy and actively promotes the career development of women in management positions in all business areas, in particular by increasingly selecting women to take part in internal management training programs.

During the year under review Ms. Skala-Kuhmann was elected to serve on the Supervisory Board.

In recent years the percentage of women holding qualified positions has steadily increased. Moreover, inasmuch as it is made possible by the respective position, the company promotes the compatibility of career and family life on the basis of flexible working time models and the possibility to work at home.

5) Compliance

In addition to the existing “Lenzing Principles“ which serve as an orientation guide for the issues of value creation, entrepreneurial spirit, accountability, openness and honesty as well as our clear commitment to sustainable corporate management, Lenzing also developed a Code of Conduct during the reporting year. This Code of Conduct contains binding rules for all employees pertaining to the most important issues, and promotes moral and ethical behavior. A Group Compliance Officer monitors adherence to the code.

6) Director’s Dealings

The disclosure of share purchases and sales by members of the Management Board and Supervisory Board is carried out in accordance with valid provisions contained in the Austrian Stock Exchange Act. A link to the Website of the Financial Market Authority can be found on the Website of Lenzing AG.

7) Risk management and internal auditing

The effectiveness of Lenzing’s risk management system was evaluated by the auditor Deloitte Audit in accordance with Rule 83 ACCG and issued an unqualified opinion. The Management Board was informed about the results. Furthermore, the Head of Risk Management annually reports about current risks during a meeting of the Audit Committee.

The Corporate Center Risk Management and Internal Audit reports directly to the Management Board. The annual auditing plan is defined in close collaboration with the Management Board and the Audit Committee. Similarly, the Head of Internal Audit reports to the Audit Committee about the key audit findings.

8) External evaluation

In accordance with Rule 62 ACCG, Lenzing submits to an external evaluation of its compliance with the C-Rules and R-Rules of the Austrian Code of Corporate Governance. Lenzing contracted KMPG Austria AG to evaluate its Corporate Governance Report 2012. The external evaluation concluded that the declaration provided by Lenzing AG committing the company to complying with the Austrian Code of Corporate Governance (July 2012 version) gives a true and fair view of the actual situation. The external evaluation report can be viewed on the company’s Website at www.lenzing.com.

Lenzing Aktiengesellschaft

Lenzing, January 31, 2013

 

The Management Board

Peter Untersperger

Friedrich Weninger

Thomas G. Winkler

..

Corporate Governance

Mit dem Österreichischen Corporate Governance Kodex (ÖCGK) wird österreichischen Aktiengesellschaften ein Ordnungsrahmen für die Leitung und Überwachung des Unternehmens zur Verfügung gestellt. Dieser enthält die international üblichen Standards für gute Unternehmensführung, aber auch die in diesem Zusammenhang bedeutsamen Regelungen des österreichischen Aktienrechts.

Der Kodex verfolgt das Ziel einer verantwortlichen, auf nachhaltige und langfristige Wertschaffung ausgerichteten Leitung und Kontrolle von Gesellschaften und Konzernen. Mit dem Kodex soll ein hohes Maß an Transparenz für alle Stakeholder des Unternehmens erreicht werden.

Verpflichtungserklärung

Die Lenzing AG respektiert den ÖCGK und verpflichtete sich 2010 erstmals zur Einhaltung der dort dokumentierten Bestimmungen. Auch der Aufsichtsrat hat einstimmig den Beschluss gefasst den Kodex vollinhaltlich zu erfüllen. Der Kodex steht im Internet unter www.corporate-governance.at in der aktuell gültigen Fassung (Juli 2012) zur Verfügung. Entsprechend Regel 60 des ÖCGK hat die Lenzing AG einen Corporate Governance Bericht aufzustellen.

Dieser Corporate Governance Bericht ist auf der Homepage der Lenzing AG öffentlich zugänglich (C-Regel 61 ÖCGK).

Organe der Lenzing AG

1) Vorstand

Mag. Dr. Peter Untersperger (1960)
Vorstandsvorsitzender
Erstbestellung 01.01.1999
Ende laufende Funktionsperiode 31.03.2016
Aufgabenbereiche: Business Unit Engineering, Corporate Communications, Global Human Resources, Internal Audit, Mergers & Acquisitions, Wood Purchasing
Aufsichtsratsmandate in anderen Gesellschaften: keine

Dipl.-Ing. Friedrich Weninger, MBA (1957)
Mitglied des Vorstandes
Erstbestellung 01.01.2009
Ende laufende Funktionsperiode 31.12.2014
Aufgabenbereiche: Business Unit Textile Fibers, Business Unit Nonwoven Fibers, Business Unit Pulp, Business Unit Energy, Business Unit Plastics, Business Unit Filaments, Global Safety, Health & Environment, Environment Lenzing Site, Infrastructure Lenzing Site, Business Planning
Aufsichtsratsmandate in anderen Gesellschaften: keine

Mag. Thomas G. Winkler, LL.M. (1963)
Mitglied des Vorstandes
Erstbestellung 01.04.2010
Ende laufende Funktionsperiode 31.03.2016
Aufgabenbereiche: Global Finance, Global Information Technology, Global Purchasing, Investor Relations, Legal Management, Risk Management, Group Compliance
Aufsichtsratsmandate in anderen Gesellschaften: Österreichische Industrieholding AG

Der Vorstand besteht aus drei Mitgliedern und führt im Rahmen von Gesetz, Satzung und einer vorliegenden Geschäftsordnung die Geschäfte der Lenzing Aktiengesellschaft. Die Verteilung der Geschäfte unter den einzelnen Vorstandsmitgliedern erfolgt gemäß einem der Geschäftsordnung angegliederten Geschäftsverteilungsplan. In der Geschäftsordnung ist weiters auch die Zusammenarbeit des Vorstands geregelt. Weiters hat sich der Vorstand auch zur vollständigen Einhaltung der Regeln des Österreichischen Corporate Governance Kodex verpflichtet.

Im Juli 2012 wurde das Mandat von Mag. Thomas G. Winkler, LL.M. für weitere drei Jahre verlängert. Im September wurde ebenfalls das Vorstandsmandat des Vorstandsvorsitzenden Mag. Dr. Peter Untersperger bis März 2016 verlängert.

2) Aufsichtsrat

2.1. Zusammensetzung

MMag. Dr. Michael Junghans (1967)
Seit 29.03.2011: Vorsitzender (bis 29.03.2011: Stellvertretender Vorsitzender)
Erstbestellung 30.04.2010
Ende laufende Funktionsperiode: Bis zur Hauptversammlung, die über das Geschäftsjahr 2012 beschließt.
Aufsichtsratsmandate in anderen Gesellschaften: Semperit AG Holding, AMAG Austria Metall AG

Dr. Veit Sorger (1942)
Seit 29.03.2011: Stellvertretender Vorsitzender
Erstbestellung 04.06.2004
Ende laufende Funktionsperiode: Bis zur Hauptversammlung, die über das Geschäftsjahr 2014 beschließt.
Aufsichtsratsmandate in anderen Gesellschaften: Mondi AG (Vorsitzender), Semperit AG Holding (Vorsitzender), Constantia Industries AG (Vorsitzender), GrECo International Holding AG

Mag. Helmut Bernkopf (1967)
Erstbestellung 23.04.2009
Ende laufende Funktionsperiode: Bis zur Hauptversammlung, die über das Geschäftsjahr 2014 beschließt.
Aufsichtsratsmandate in anderen Gesellschaften: CA Immobilien Anlagen AG, Schöllerbank AG (Vorsitzender), Österreichische Kontrollbank AG

Dr. Josef Krenner (1952)
Erstbestellung 23.04.2009
Ende laufende Funktionsperiode: Bis zur Hauptversammlung, die über das Geschäftsjahr 2014 beschließt.
Aufsichtsratsmandate in anderen Gesellschaften: Voestalpine AG, Flughafen Linz GmbH, B & C Industrieholding GmbH, BioMed-zet Life Science GmbH, AMAG Austria Metall AG (Vorsitzender)

Mag. Martin Payer (1978)
Erstbestellung 15.06.2007
Ende laufende Funktionsperiode: Bis zur Hauptversammlung, die über das Geschäftsjahr 2014 beschließt.
Aufsichtsratsmandate in anderen Gesellschaften: keine

Mag. Patrick Prügger (1975)
Erstbestellung 29.03.2011
Ende laufende Funktionsperiode: Bis zur Hauptversammlung, die über das Geschäftsjahr 2013 beschließt.
Aufsichtsratsmandate in anderen Gesellschaften: Semperit AG Holding, AMAG Austria Metall AG, VA Intertrading AG

Mag. Andreas Schmidradner (1961)
Erstbestellung 12.06.2008
Ende laufende Funktionsperiode: Bis zur Hauptversammlung, die über das Geschäftsjahr 2014 beschließt.
Aufsichtsratsmandate in anderen Gesellschaften: Semperit AG Holding, VAMED AG

Dr. Astrid Skala-Kuhmann (1953)
Erstbestellung 19.04.2012
Ende laufende Funktionsperiode: Bis zur Hauptversammlung, die über das Geschäftsjahr 2014 beschließt.
Aufsichtsratsmandate in anderen Gesellschaften: Keine

Dr. Walter Lederer (1961)
Erstbestellung 27.06.2002
Funktionsperiode endete am 19.04.2012
Aufsichtsratsmandate in anderen Gesellschaften: Keine

Vom Betriebsrat delegierte Aufsichtsräte

Rudolf Baldinger (1954)
Erstbestellung 1998
Prüfungs-, Nominierungs- und Strategieausschuss

Georg Liftinger (1961)
Erstbestellung 2008
Prüfungs- und Strategieausschuss

Ing. Gerhard Ratzesberger (1951)
Erstbestellung 2008

Johann Schernberger (1964)
Erstbestellung 2001

2.2. Unabhängigkeit (C-Regeln 53 und 54 ÖCGK)

Der Aufsichtsrat hat die Leitlinien für die Unabhängigkeit gem. Anhang 1 des ÖCGK übernommen. Danach haben alle Mitglieder des Aufsichtsrates erklärt, von der Gesellschaft und deren Vorstand unabhängig zu sein.

Gemäß C-Regel 54 haben die Mitglieder des Aufsichtsrats Dr. Veit Sorger, Mag. Helmut Bernkopf und Dr. Josef Krenner erklärt, im Geschäftsjahr 2012 weder selbst Anteilseigner an der Gesellschaft mit einer Beteiligung von jeweils mehr als 10% gewesen zu sein noch die Interessen solcher Anteilseigner vertreten zu haben.

2.3. Arbeitsweise des Aufsichtsrats

Zur Erfüllung seiner Aufgabe, der Überwachung der Geschäftsführung des Vorstands, tritt der Aufsichtsrat der Lenzing AG mindestens vierteljährlich zu Sitzungen zusammen. Im Berichtsjahr fanden fünf Aufsichtsratssitzungen statt (C-Regel 36).

Der Aufsichtsrat der Lenzing AG hat im Geschäftsjahr 2012 aus seiner Mitte vier Ausschüsse bestellt (C-Regeln 34 und 39 ÖCGK):

2.3.1. Prüfungsausschuss
Der Prüfungsausschuss nimmt die ihm gem. § 92 Absatz 4a AktG zugewiesenen Aufgaben wahr. Demnach hat der Prüfungsausschuss insbesondere die Feststellung des Jahresabschlusses zu prüfen und vorzubereiten sowie den Vorschlag des Vorstands für die Gewinnverteilung und den Lagebericht zu untersuchen. Der Prüfungsausschuss prüft ferner den Konzernabschluss und den Konzernlagebericht und erstattet einen Vorschlag für die Auswahl des Abschlussprüfers. Weiters befasst sich der Prüfungsausschuss mit der Überprüfung der Wirksamkeit des Internen Kontrollsystems, der internen Revision und des Risikomanagementsystems im Unternehmen. Der Ausschuss hat über seine Tätigkeit dem Aufsichtsrat zu berichten. Im Geschäftsjahr 2012 ist der Prüfungsausschuss zu drei Sitzungen zusammengetreten.

Mitglieder: MMag. Dr. Michael Junghans (Vorsitzender), Dr. Veit Sorger, Mag. Patrick Prügger, Rudolf Baldinger, Georg Liftinger

2.3.2. Nominierungsausschuss
Der Aufsichtsrat hat einen Nominierungsausschuss eingerichtet. Dieser unterbreitet dem Aufsichtsrat Vorschläge zur Besetzung neuer oder frei werdender Mandate im Vorstand und befasst sich mit Fragen der Nachfolgeplanung. Überdies unterbreitet er der Hauptversammlung Vorschläge zur Besetzung von Aufsichtsratsmandaten. Im Geschäftsjahr 2012 haben vier Sitzungen des Nominierungsausschusses stattgefunden, die sich insbesondere mit der Verlängerung des Vorstandsmandates von Herrn Mag. Dr. Peter Untersperger und Herrn Mag. Thomas G. Winkler, LL.M. beschäftigt haben.

Mitglieder: MMag. Dr. Michael Junghans (Vorsitzender), Dr. Veit Sorger, Rudolf Baldinger; als nicht stimmberechtigter Gast: Georg Liftinger

2.3.3. Vergütungsausschuss
Der Aufsichtsrat hat einen Vergütungsausschuss eingerichtet. Dieser befasst sich mit dem Inhalt von Anstellungsverträgen mit Vorstandsmitgliedern, sorgt für die Umsetzung der C-Regeln 27, 27a und 28 und überprüft die Vergütungspolitik für Vorstandsmitglieder in regelmäßigen Abständen. Im Geschäftsjahr 2012 haben acht Sitzungen des Vergütungsausschusses stattgefunden, die sich insbesondere mit dem ab 2013 geltenden Vergütungsmodell für den Vorstand beschäftigt haben.

Mitglieder: MMag. Dr. Michael Junghans (Vorsitzender), Dr. Veit Sorger

2.3.4. Strategieausschuss
Der Aufsichtsrat hat erstmals im Berichtsjahr einen Strategieausschuss eingerichtet. Dieser befasst sich mit der Unternehmensstrategie und daraus abgeleiteten, unternehmensspezifischen Key Performance Indicators, gemeinsam mit dem Vorstand. Weiters gibt es eine unterjährige Kontrolle bzw. jährliche Reviews der Strategieumsetzungsmaßnahmen durch den Vorstand. Im Geschäftsjahr 2012 haben zwei Sitzungen stattgefunden.

Mitglieder: MMag. Dr. Michael Junghans (Vorsitzender), Dr. Veit Sorger, Mag. Andreas Schmidradner, Rudolf Baldinger, Georg Liftinger

2.4. Zusammenarbeit von Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat

Der Vorstand berichtet dem Aufsichtsrat über grundsätzliche Fragen der künftigen Geschäftspolitik der Gesellschaft und ihres Konzerns sowie die künftige Entwicklung der Vermögens-, Finanz- und Ertragslage. Weiters berichtet der Vorstand dem Aufsichtsrat regelmäßig über den Gang der Geschäfte und die Lage der Gesellschaft und des Konzerns im Vergleich zur Vorschaurechnung unter Berücksichtigung der künftigen Entwicklung. Der Vorstand und der Aufsichtsrat besprechen ebenfalls in einer separaten Strategiesitzung die langfristigen Wachstumsziele der Lenzing Gruppe.

2.5. Selbstevaluierung Aufsichtsrat

Der Aufsichtsrat hat im Geschäftsjahr 2012 erstmals eine Selbstevaluierung gemäß Regel 36 in Form der Aussendung eines Fragebogens, mit Schwerpunktthemen wie der Kontrollfunktion des Aufsichtsrates gegenüber dem Vorstand sowie der Einhaltung von Informationspflichten des Vorstandes an den Aufsichtsrat, durchgeführt. Das Ergebnis der Selbstevaluierung zeigt, dass die Tätigkeit des Aufsichtsrats der Lenzing AG als gut bewertet wird. Weiters wurde ein Maßnahmenkatalog erstellt, welcher eine weitere Effizienzsteigerung der Tätigkeiten des Aufsichtsrats gewährleisten soll.

3) Grundsätze des Vergütungssystems
für Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat (C-Regel 30 ÖCGK)

In den letzten beiden Jahren wurden die Vergütungsmodelle in den Vorstandsverträgen vereinheitlicht und die variablen Komponenten in den Verträgen ausgebaut. Die Vergütung aller drei Vorstandsmitglieder setzt sich aus einem fixen und einem kurzfristigen erfolgsabhängigen Anteil zusammen. Zusätzlich wird dem Vorstand ein langfristiges Bonusbankmodell gewährt. Der Maximalbonus ist mit 148% des Jahresfestbezuges in Zukunft begrenzt. Ein Stock Option Programm oder ein Programm für die begünstigte Übertragung von Aktien besteht nicht.

  • Die kurzfristige Erfolgsbeteiligung des Vorstandes richtet sich nach den Kriterien Konzernjahresüberschuss und Gesamtrentabilität bzw. Cashflow sowie individuellen qualitativen Zielen.
  • Für das Geschäftsjahr 2012 wird hinsichtlich des langfristigen Bonusanteils die Dividendenhöhe herangezogen. Ab 2013 gelten als Zielgrößen für das langfristige Bonusbankmodell zu 2/3 mehrjährige Leistungskriterien des Lenzing Konzerns (Umsatz, EBIT-Marge und der Total Shareholder Return) im Vergleich zu einer Peer-Gruppe und zu 1/3 die Erreichung qualitativer Ziele. Eine Auszahlung erfolgt jeweils verteilt über drei Jahre.
  • Zudem besteht für den Vorstand ein Anspruch auf Bezahlung von Beiträgen an eine Pensionskasse, die im Geschäftsjahr 2012 TEUR 96 (2011: TEUR 94) betrug.
  • Die betriebliche Altersversorgung sowie Abfertigungsansprüche und Anwartschaften für den Fall der Beendigung der Funktion richten sich sinngemäß nach den gesetzlichen Vorgaben des Bundesgesetzes für die Mitarbeitervorsorge.
  • Die Gesellschaft hat für Vorstandsmitglieder eine Directors and Officers Liability (D & O)-Versicherung sowie eine Rechtsschutzversicherung abgeschlossen.

Bezüge der Mitglieder des Vorstandes der Lenzing AG:

Vorstandsvergütung

TEUR

Mag. Dr. Peter Untersperger

Dipl.-Ing. Friedrich Weninger, MBA

Mag. Thomas Winkler, LL.M.

Summe

2012

2011

2012

2011

2012

2011

2012

2011

Laufende Bezüge fix

484

468

433

391

405

390

1.322

1.249

Laufende Bezüge variabel

696

2.240

525

1.539

488

1.391

1.709

5.170

Summe

1.180

2.708

958

1.930

893

1.782

3.032

6.419

Die Bezüge für ehemalige Mitglieder des Vorstandes der Lenzing AG oder deren Hinterbliebene betrugen 2012 TEUR 895 (2011: TEUR 860).

Die Grundsätze der Vergütung der Mitglieder des Aufsichtsrates sind in der Satzung der Lenzing AG (§ 13) geregelt, welche auf der Homepage der Gesellschaft offengelegt ist. Gemäß Satzung erhielt der Aufsichtsrat im Jahr 2012 für das Jahr 2011 unter Berücksichtigung des § 98 Aktien Gesetz einen Anteil von 1,5% am Jahresgewinn, maximal das 2,5-fache der jährlichen fixen Vergütung. Es erhalten alle Mitglieder den gleichen Betrag, der Vorsitzende zusätzlich 60% und sein Stellvertreter 30%. Die jährliche fixe Vergütung beträgt EUR 7.082. Diese Beträge werden mit dem Verbraucherpreisindex angepasst.

Die Aufsichtsratsvergütungen (inkl. Sitzungsgelder) betrugen für das Geschäftsjahr 2011 insgesamt EUR 222.988, welche in der Hauptversammlung vom 19. April 2012 beschlossen wurden und in weiterer Folge ausgezahlt wurden.

Vergütung der Mitglieder des Aufsichtsrats der Lenzing AG:

MMag. Dr. Michael Junghans

EUR 37.867

Dr. Veit Sorger

EUR 30.431

Mag. Helmut Bernkopf

EUR 24.788

Dr. Josef Krenner

EUR 24.788

Mag. Martin Payer

EUR 24.788

Mag. Patrick Prügger

EUR 18.879

Mag. Andreas Schmidradner

EUR 24.788

Dr. Astrid Skala-Kuhmann (Beginn Funktionsperiode 4/2012)

-

Dkfm. Dr. Hermann Bell (Ende Funktionsperiode 3/2011)

EUR 9.562

Dr. Walter Lederer (Ende Funktionsperiode 4/2012)

EUR 24.788

 

Rudolf Baldinger

EUR 679

Georg Liftinger

EUR 679

Ing. Gerhard Ratzesberger

EUR 272

Johann Schernberger

EUR 679

4) Förderung von Frauen im Vorstand, im Aufsichtsrat und in leitenden Stellen
(L-Regel 60)

Die Gesellschaft achtet auf die strenge Gleichbehandlung der Geschlechter und fördert die Entwicklung von Frauen in Führungspositionen für alle Funktionen, insbesondere durch die verstärkte Berücksichtigung von Frauen in internen Managementausbildungsprogrammen.

Im Berichtsjahr wurde Frau Dr. Skala-Kuhmann in den Aufsichtsrat der Gesellschaft gewählt.

Weiters konnte in den letzten Jahren der Frauenanteil speziell in qualifizierten Positionen stetig erhöht werden. Darüber hinaus wird – soweit es die jeweilige Position erlaubt – die Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf durch flexible Arbeitszeitmodelle und die Möglichkeit zur Heimarbeit gefördert.

5) Compliance

Neben den bereits bestehenden „Lenzing Prinzipien“, welche als Orientierungshilfe für die Themen Wertschöpfung, Unternehmerischer Geist, Verantwortung sowie Offenheit und Ehrlichkeit dienen, sowie unserem klaren Bekenntnis zur nachhaltigen Unternehmensführung hat Lenzing im Berichtsjahr einen Verhaltenskodex (Code of Conduct) entwickelt. Der Verhaltenskodex enthält verbindliche Regeln für alle Mitarbeiter für die wichtigsten Themen und fordert moralisches und ethisches Handeln. Überwacht wird dieser Bereich von einem Group Compliance Officer.

6) Director’s Dealings

Die Bekanntgabe von Aktienkäufen und -verkäufen von Mitgliedern des Vorstandes und des Aufsichtsrates erfolgt gemäß dem geltenden Börsegesetz. Ein Link zur Website der Finanzmarktaufsicht ist auf der Homepage der Lenzing AG eingerichtet.

7) Risikomanagement und Interne Revision

Die Funktionsfähigkeit des Risikomanagements wurde vom Wirtschaftsprüfer Deloitte Audit gemäß Regel 83 ÖCGK uneingeschränkt attestiert und das Ergebnis dem Vorstand zur Kenntnis gebracht. Darüber hinaus berichtet der Leiter Risikomanagement jährlich in einer Prüfungsausschusssitzung über die aktuellen Risiken.

Die Abteilung Interne Revision berichtet direkt dem Vorstand. Der Jahres-Revisionsplan wird in enger Abstimmung mit dem Vorstand sowie dem Prüfungsausschuss festgelegt. Ebenfalls jährlich wird in einer Prüfungsausschusssitzung durch den Leiter Internal Audit über die wesentlichen Prüfungserkenntnisse berichtet.

8) Externe Evaluierung

Gemäß Regel 62 hat die Gesellschaft regelmäßig, mindestens alle drei Jahre eine externe Institution mit der Evaluierung zur Einhaltung der C- und R-Regeln des Kodex zu beauftragen. Lenzing hat KPMG Austria AG mit dieser Evaluierung des Corporate Governance Berichtes 2012 beauftragt. Als Ergebnis der Evaluierung wurde festgestellt, dass die abgegebene Erklärung der Lenzing AG zur Einhaltung des Österreichischen Corporate Governance Kodex (Fassung Juli 2012) den tatsächlichen Gegebenheiten entspricht. Der Prüfbericht ist auf der Homepage www.lenzing.com einsehbar.

Lenzing Aktiengesellschaft

Lenzing, 31. Jänner 2013

 

Der Vorstand

Mag. Dr. Peter Untersperger

Mag. Dr. Peter Untersperger

Dipl.-Ing. Friedrich Weninger, MBA

Dipl.-Ing. Friedrich Weninger, MBA

Mag. Thomas G. Winkler, LL.M.

Mag. Thomas G. Winkler, LL.M.